Bradshaw

Select map to view larger area
BRADSHAW, a township and a chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Bolton and Blackburn railway, adjacent to the Oaks station, 3 miles NE of Bolton; and has a post office under Bolton. Acres, 1,380. Real property, 3,754. Pop., 792. Houses, 146. Bradshaw Hall was the seat of John Bradshaw, who presided at the trial of Charles I.; and is now the seat of T. Hardcastle, Esq. There are two cotton mills, a bleaching mill, and quarries. The church. is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1853. Pop., 1,968. Houses, 378. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, the Vicar of Bolton. The church is tolerable.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradshaw.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bradshaw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bradshaw area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bradshaw which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bradshaw to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bradshaw was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Bradshaw in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Bradshaw and places within its boundaries.

Township map. You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD735125 (Lat/Lon: 53.608375, -2.402000), Bradshaw which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bradshaw was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.