Briercliffe

Select map to view larger area
BRIERCLIFFE, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Briercliffe-with-Extwistle; and lies near the East Lancashire railway, 3 miles NE by E of Burnley. Post Town, Burnley. Acres, 4,180. Real property, 5,222. Pop., 1,332. Houses, 263. There are quarries and cotton mills. The chapelry was constituted in 1842. Pop., 2,024. Houses, 393. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 250.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church was built in 1840. There are two Baptist chapels and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Burnley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Briercliffe with Extwistle.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Briercliffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Briercliffe area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Briercliffe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Briercliffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Briercliffe and Extwistle was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Briercliffe and places within its boundaries. map near Briercliffe in the 19th century.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD867350 (Lat/Lon: 53.811113, -2.203471), Briercliffe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Briercliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.