GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Brindle

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Maps
Probate Records
BRINDLE, a parish and a subdistrict in Chorley district, Lancashire. The parish lies on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and on the Preston and Blackburn railway, near Bamber-Bridge station, 5 miles N by E of Chorley; and has a post office under Chorley. Acres, 2,935. Real property, £6,401. Pop., 1,501. Houses, 265. The manor belongs to Lord Chesham. There are a cotton factory, print-works, chemical-works, brickworks, and quarries. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £515.* Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church is good; and there are a chapel at B.-Heath, built in 1864, a Roman Catholic chapel, a large boarding-school, a workhouse, and charities £31. The subdistrict includes also part of Leyland parish. Acres, 10,388. Pop., 6,021. Houses, 1,112.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Brindle.

Church History

St Joseph's R.C. church.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brindle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Brindle area is Chorley.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Brindle to another place.

Maps

View maps of Brindle and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Brindle was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:47 BST - Phil Stringer]