Broughton East (Field Broughton)

There are other places also called Broughton in Lancashire.

Select map to view larger area
BROUGHTON (East), or Broughton-Field, a township-chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire; 4 miles N of Cartmel r. station, and 7 NE of Ulverstone. Post Town, Cartmel, under Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 2,830. Real property, 4,332. Pop., 534. Houses, 107. The property is subdivided. Broughton Grove, Broughton Hall, and Broughton Lodge are chief residences. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 67.* Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton East.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Broughton East area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Broughton East area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Broughton East which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Broughton East to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Broughton East was a township in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Broughton East and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD387817 (Lat/Lon: 54.227337, -2.941807), Broughton East which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Broughton East was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.