Broughton East (Field Broughton)
|
|
|
|
BROUGHTON (East), or Broughton-Field, a township-chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire; 4 miles N of Cartmel r. station, and 7 NE of Ulverstone. Post Town, Cartmel, under Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 2,830. Real property, £4,332. Pop., 534. Houses, 107. The property is subdivided. Broughton Grove, Broughton Hall, and Broughton Lodge are chief residences. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £67.* Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church is good.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.Cemeteries
- Grange Fell Rd, Cemetery, Grange over Sands
- St Peter, Church of England, Field Broughton
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton East.Church History
Church Records
- St Peter, Church of England, Field Broughton
- St Paul, Main Street, Church of England, Grange over Sands
- The Fell Church, Grange Fell Rd, Church of England, Grange over Sands
- Kents Bank Rd, Congregational, Grange over Sands
- St Charles, Kents Bank Rd, Roman Catholic, Grange over Sands
- Kents Bank Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Grange over Sands
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Broughton East area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

