Broughton in Furness

There are other places also called Broughton in Lancashire.

Select map to view larger area
BROUGHTON-IN-FURNESS, or West Broughton, a small town, a township-chapelry, and a subdistrict in the district of Ulverstone, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Duddon, adjacent to the Furness railway, at the junction of the branch line to Coniston, 9 miles, by road, NW by N of Ulverstone. It occupies a hill slope; is edificed with stone houses, nearly in a regular square; and has, of late years, undergone great improvement. It has a post office under Ulverstone, a railway station with telegraph, two chief inns, and a grammar school. A weekly market is held on Wednesday; and fairs on 27 April, 1 Aug., and 6 Oct. A manufacture of woollen yarn used to be carried on; and an export trade in roofing slates and in iron and copper ores, from neighbouring mines, is now considerable. The chapelry includes the town; is in Kirkby-Ireleth parish; and comprises 7,040 acres. Real property, 6,677. Pop., 1,183. Houses, 239. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged for several centuries to the Broughton family; and was forfeited, in 1487, by Sir Thomas Broughton, who joined Lambert Simnel, and fell in the battle of Stoke. Broughton tower, now the seat of J. D. Sawrey, Esq., crowns an eminence about a mile N of the town; includes part of the ancient mansion of the Broughtons; and commands a brilliant and extensive view. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 108.* Patron, J. D. Sawrey, Esq. The church is tolerable; and there are two dissenting chapels. Charities, 15. The subdistrict consists of Kirkby-Ireleth parish and an extra-parochial tract.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local Studies information is held at

Cumbria Record Office and Local Studies Library,
140 Duke Street,
Barrow-in-Furness,
LA14 1XW.

Tel: 01229 894363
barrow.record.office@cumbriacc.gov.uk

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Broughton-in-Furness and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton-in-Furness.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Broughton in Furness area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Broughton in Furness area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Broughton in Furness which are provided by:

Directories

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Broughton in Furness to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Broughton in Furness was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth.

History

The history of Broughton in Furness as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Broughton in Furness and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD209875 (Lat/Lon: 54.277010, -3.216321), Broughton in Furness which are provided by:

Occupations

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Broughton in Furness was in the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York, whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. A list of the probate records at York which relate specifically to the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth (including Broughton-in-Furness and Seathwaite) is available at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.