Broughton
|
|
|
|
BROUGHTON, a township-chapelry and a subdistrict, in Salford district, Lancashire; on the river Irwell, near the Bolton railway, in the parish and within the borough of Manchester. It includes a suburb of Manchester, called Higher Broughton and Lower Broughton, communicating with Salford by Broughton bridge; includes also the village of Kersall; and has a post office, of the name of Broughton-Road, under Manchester. Acres, 960. Real property, £66,430. Pop., 9,885. Houses, 1,789. Broughton Hall belonged formerly to the Chethams and the Stanleys; was partly burnt in 1847; and belongs now to Col. Clowes. Higher Broughton and Lower Broughton contain several streets, straight, airy, and crossing one another at right angles; and the two are conjoint. The chapelry was constituted in 1840. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £400.* Patrons, Trustees. There are six dissenting chapels; one of them built in 1869, at a cost of £6,000. The subdistrict is conterminate with the chapelry.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
- St John the Evangelist, Murray Street, Church of England, Higher Broughton
- St Paul, Moor Lane, Church of England, Kersal Moor
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton.Church History
Church Records
- St James, Great Cheetham St East, Church of England, Higher Broughton
- St John the Evangelist, Murray Street, Church of England, Higher Broughton
- St Paul, Moor Lane, Church of England, Kersal Moor
- St Clement, Broughton Lane, Church of England, Lower Broughton
- The Ascension, Clarence Street, Church of England, Lower Broughton
- St Aidan, Littleton Road, Church of England, Lower Kersal
- Gt Clowes Street, Church of the Nazarene, Lower Brougton
- Bury New Road, Congregational
- Water Park Rd, Congregational, Broughton Park
- Church of the Annunciation, Bury New Rd, Greek Orthodox, Higher Broughton
- Kingdom Hall, St John St, Jehovah's Witness, Higher Broughton
- Holy Law South Broughton Congregation, Bury New Road, Jewish
- North Manchester Synagogue, Leicester Road, Jewish
- Central and North Manchester Synagogue, Leicester Road, Jewish, Broughton Park
- Manchester Great, New and Central Synagogue, Holden Rd, Jewish, Broughton Park
- Adass Yeshurun Synagogue, Cheltenham Crescent, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Belz Synagogue, Broom Lane, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Kahal Chassidim Synagogue, Singleton Road, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Machzikei Hadass Synagogue, Northumberland St, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Manchester Kolel Synagogue, Leicester Road, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Ohel Torah Synagogue, Leicester Road, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- Zerie Agudas Israel Synagogue, Northumberland St, Jewish, Higher Broughton
- North Salford Synagogue, Vine St, Jewish, Kersal
- Spanish and Portugese Synagogue, Moor Lane, Jewish, Kersal Moor
- Alexandra Gardens, Methodist
- Salem, Bury New Road, Methodist New Connexion
- Salem, Wellington St, Methodist New Connexion, Higher Broughton
- Singleton Rd, Presbyterian, Kersal
- Camp St/Gt Clowes St, Primitive Methodist
- St Thomas of Canterbury, Gt Cheetham St East, Roman Catholic, Higher Broughton
- Our Lady of Dolours, Bury New Road, Roman Catholic, Kersal
- St Philip Benizi, Northallerton Rd, Roman Catholic, Kersal
- St Boniface, St Boniface Road, Roman Catholic, Lower Broughton
- Gt Clowes Street, Union Baptist, Lower Brougton
- Leicester Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Gt Cheetham St West, Wesleyan Methodist, Higher Broughton
- Sussex St, Wesleyan Methodist, Lower Brougton
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Broughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Broughton area is Salford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Broughton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Broughton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Broughton was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Broughton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Broughton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD827001 (Lat/Lon: 53.497305, -2.262263), Broughton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Broughton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

