Burnage
|
|
|
|
BURNAGE, a township in Manchester parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles S of Manchester. Acres, 658. Real property, £3,741. Pop., 624. Houses, 120.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Burnage.Church History
St Margaret's Church has produced a history of the church called St Margaret's Burnage Celebration 125 price £5 + postage from the Vicarage, Burnage Lane Manchester.Church Records
- Burnage Lane, Church of Christ
- St Margaret, Burnage Lane, Church of England
- St Nicholas, Kingsway, Church of England
- St Chad, Mauldeth Road, Church of England, Ladybarn
- Christ Church, Burnage Lane, Congregational
- Christ Church, Parrswood Rd, Congregational
- South Manchester Family Church, Burnage Lane, Family Church
- St Bernard, Burnage Lane, Roman Catholic
- Burnage Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burnage area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Burnage area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Burnage which are provided by:Directories
Names extracted from the Lancashire Directory, 1858.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burnage to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Burnage was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Burnage in the 19th century.
Maps
View maps of Burnage and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ866926 (Lat/Lon: 53.430005, -2.203151), Burnage which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burnage was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

