GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Burnage

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Directories
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
BURNAGE, a township in Manchester parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles S of Manchester. Acres, 658. Real property, £3,741. Pop., 624. Houses, 120.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Burnage.

Church History

St Margaret's Church has produced a history of the church called St Margaret's Burnage Celebration 125 price £5 + postage from the Vicarage, Burnage Lane Manchester.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burnage area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Burnage Heritage is producing a detailed index of St Margarets baptism and marriages (no burials) from 1875-1950. Should be ready this year.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Burnage area is Manchester.

Directories

Names extracted from the Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.

Names extracted from the Lancashire Directory, 1858.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burnage to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Burnage was a township in the parish of Manchester. See the Burnage Heritage site for a more detailed description and a map of the townships in Manchester parish.

History

The Burnage Heritage site gathers and publishes information about Burnage and its history.

A description of Burnage in the 19th century.

Burnage as it used to be.

Maps

View maps of Burnage and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burnage was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:49 BST - Phil Stringer]