Burnley
|
|
|
|
BURNLEY, a town, a township, four chapelries, a sub-d., and a district in Lancashire. The town stands on the river Burn, immediately above its influx to the West Calder, 22 miles N of Manchester. The Leeds and Liverpool canal is adjacent; and railways go in three directions, toward Skipton, Todmorton, and Blackburn. The town itself is almost wholly modern; has undergone vast increase since the latter part of last century; and owes its character to the rise and enterprize of manufactures. It is built chiefly of freestone; and presents a fair appearance. The town has a head post office, two railway stations, a telegraph office, a banking office, four chief inns, a mechanics' institute, and a public reading room; is a seat of petty sessions and county courts, and a polling-place; and publishes two weekly newspapers. A weekly market is held on Monday; and fairs on 6 March, Easter-Eve, 10 July, and 11 Oct. Woollens were the first great manufacture; but cottons are now the staple. There are three worsted mills, and about thirty cotton mills. There are also calico printing-works, corn mills, iron foundries, brass foundries, machinery-works, rope-walks, tan-works, and breweries. Much trade is carried on likewise from neighbouring collieries and freestone quarries. The town was enfranchised by the reform act of 1867, and sends one member to parliament. Pop. in 1851, 20,828; in 1861, 28,700. Houses, 5,085. The township is of less extent than the town, which extends into the township of Habergham-Eaves. Acres, 1,839. Real property, £71,779; of which £10,136 are in mines. Pop., 19,971. Houses, 3,515.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Burnley Central Library,Grimshaw Street,
BURNLEY
BB11 2BD
Tel 01282 437115
Fax 01282 831682
Minicom Textphone 01282 424009
Cemeteries
- Ebenezer, Colne Rd, Baptist
- Rossendale Road, Cemetery
- St James, Bethesda St, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Gannow Lane, Church of England
- St Peter, Church Street, Church of England
- Accrington Road, Crematorium
- Bethesda, Bethesda St, Independent
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Burnley.Church History
Church Records
- Healey Grange, Rosehill Rd, Baptist
- Aenon, Red Lion St, Baptist
- Bethel, Angle St, Baptist
- Ebenezer, Colne Rd, Baptist
- Immanuel, Bright St, Baptist
- Mount Olivet, Broughton St/Plover St, Baptist
- Mount Pleasant, Hammerton St, Baptist
- St Alban, Stoneyhurst Ave, Church of England
- St Andrew, Colne Rd, Church of England
- St Catherine, Todmorden Rd, Church of England
- St Cuthbert, Towneley Street, Church of England
- St James, Bethesda St, Church of England
- St James, March St, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Gannow Lane, Church of England
- St Margaret, Abel St, Church of England
- St Mark, Owen St, Church of England
- St Mark, Rossendale Road, Church of England
- St Oswald, Ighten Rd, Church of England
- St Paul, Saunder Bank, Church of England
- St Peter, Church Street, Church of England
- St Stephen, Oxford Road, Church of England
- Owen St, Congregational
- Thursby Rd, Congregational
- West Gate, Congregational
- Burnley Wood, Hollingreave Rd, Congregational
- Salem, Manchester Rd, Congregational
- Accrington Road, Crematorium
- Bethesda, Bethesda St, Independent
- Robinson St, Independent Methodist
- Kingdom Hall, Morse Street, Jehovah's Witness
- Belvedere Rd, Latter Day Saints
- Briercliffe Rd, New Jerusalem
- Bethel, Hammerton St, Particular Baptist
- Jireh, Boot St, Particular Baptist
- Sion, Church St, Particular Baptist
- Sion, Yorkshire St, Particular Baptist
- Curzon St, Primitive Methodist
- Howard St, Primitive Methodist
- Beulah, Rosegrove, Primitive Methodist
- Elim, Briercliffe Rd previously Lane Head, Primitive Methodist
- Jubilee, Gannow Top, Padiham Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Mount Zion, Colne Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Reheboth, Springfield Rd (formerly Waterloo Rd), Primitive Methodist
- Christ the King, Healey Court, Roman Catholic
- St Augustine, Lowerhouse Lane, Roman Catholic
- St John the Baptist, Bracewell Street, Roman Catholic
- St Mary Magdalene, Gawthorpe Road, Roman Catholic
- St Mary Magdalene, Haslem St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of the Assumption, East Gate, Roman Catholic
- Towneley Chapel, Roman Catholic
- Angle St, Scotch Baptist
- Stanley Street, Spiritualist
- Trafalgar St, Unitarian
- Claremont St, United Methodist Free Church
- Salford St, United Methodist Free Church
- Brunswick, Manchester Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Hanover, Old Hall St, United Methodist Free Church
- Healey Wood, Lincoln St, United Methodist Free Church
- Mount Pisgah, Myrtle Bank, Cog Lane (Stoops), United Methodist Free Church
- Mount Pleasant, Hammerton St, United Methodist Free Church
- Accrington Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Bartle Hills, Wesleyan Methodist
- Brooklands Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Keighley Green, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lower Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lowerhouse Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Stoneyholme, Hubie St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Whittlefield, High St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Central Methodist, Hargreaves St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Fulledge chapel, Todmorden Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lane Bridge, Parker Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Queensgate, Colne Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Rosegrove Methodist Chapel, Gannow Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Rosehill mission, Robert's Row, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wood Top, Florence St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Zion, Roebuck St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Park Hill, Padiham Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Habergham Eaves
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burnley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Burnley area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Burnley which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burnley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Burnley was a chapelry and township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Burnley and places within its boundaries.Maps of Burnley East and West around 1890.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD836320 (Lat/Lon: 53.784060, -2.250389), Burnley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Burnley workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burnley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
- Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society - Pendle & Burnley Branch
- Lancashire Parish Register Society
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

