Burscough
|
|
|
|
BURSCOUGH, a township-chapelry in Ormskirk parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and on the Southport and Ormskirk railway, 4 miles NNE of Ormskirk. It includes Burscough-Bridge village; and has two stations, of the names of Burscough Junction and Burscough-Bridge, on the railway, and a post office, of the name of Burscough-Bridge, under Ormskirk. Acres, 4,959. Real property, £12,115. Pop., 2,461. Houses, 478. Many of the inhabitants are employed in the cotton manufacture. A priory of Black canons was founded here, in the time of Richard I., by Robert Fitz-Henry, lord of Chatham, and was the burial-place of the Stanleys, previous to their adoption of Ormskirk; and some remains of the priory still exist. The chapelry bears the name of Burscough-Bridge; and was constituted in 1847. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £150. Patron, the Vicar of Ormskirk. The church was built at a cost of £3,246. There are a Wesleyan chapel of 1869, and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.Cemeteries
- St John, Liverpool Rd North, Church of England, Burscough Bridge
- St John the Evangelist, Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Burscough.Church History
Church Records
- St John, Liverpool Rd North, Church of England, Burscough Bridge
- Primitive Methodist
- St John the Evangelist, Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
- Orrell Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burscough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Burscough area is West LancashireDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Burscough which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burscough to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Burscough was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.Maps
View maps of Burscough and places within its boundaries.A map of Burscough around 1845.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD444116 (Lat/Lon: 53.598001, -2.841619), Burscough which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burscough was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

