Burtonwood

Select map to view larger area
BURTON-WOOD, a township-chapelry in Warrington parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Sankey canal and the Liverpool and Manchester railway, 1 mile S of Collins-Green r. station, and 4 NW by N of Warrington. Post Town, Warrington. Acres, 4,144. Real property, 6,545. Pop., 990. Houses, 188. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, 96. Patron, the Rector of Warrington. The church is fair; and there is a school with 12 from endowment.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Warrington and. St.Helens libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Burtonwood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burtonwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Burtonwood area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Burtonwood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burtonwood to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Burtonwood was a township in the parish of Warrington.

Maps

View maps of Burtonwood and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ563928 (Lat/Lon: 53.430156, -2.659192), Burtonwood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burtonwood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.