Bury
|
|
|
|
BURY, a township, a town, a parish, two subdistricts, and a district in Lancashire. The township lies all within the town's assigned boundaries. Acres, 2,370. Real property, £263,333,-of which £171,785 are in railways, £1,040 in mines, and £80 in quarries. Pop., in 1841, 20,710: in 1861, 30,397. Houses, 5,971. The town lies on the river Irwell, 2 miles above its confluence with the Roach, and 8 NNW of Manchester. A branch canal goes south-westward to the Manchester and Bolton canal; and railways go westward, northward, eastward, and southward. The town has a head post office, two railway stations with telegraph, two banking offices, several chief inns, a weekly market on Saturday, and three annual fairs; is a seat of petty sessions and county courts, and a polling-place; and publishes four weekly newspapers. Woollen manufacture was formerly the main industry; and is still carried on in several large factories. Cotton manufacture, in various departments, is now the staple; received a great impulse from inventions by two natives, John and Robert Kay, and from the enterprise of the late Sir Robert Peel's father; and maintains at present upwards of twelve factories for spinning and weaving, two for printing and bleaching, and two for dyeing. There are also three large iron foundries, several smaller ones, machine-making works, hat-making houses, and other manufacturing establishments.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and libraries
Bury libraries.Reference & Information Services, Central Library, Manchester Road, Bury, Lancs BL9 0DG - Tel: 0161 253 5871 information@bury.gov.uk
Cemeteries
- St Peter's Road, Cemetery
- St John Baptist, Castle Hill Rd, Church of England, Bircle
- St John, The Rock, Church of England
- St Mary the Virgin, Market Place, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's St, Church of England
- St Thomas, Rochdale Rd, Church of England, Pimhole
- Castle Croft, Congregational
- Four Lane Ends, Congregational
- Brunswick, North St, Free Methodist
- New Rd, Independent
- Bethel, Henry St, Independent
- Silver St/Bank St, Unitarian
- Holebottom, Unitarian Cemetery
- Union Street, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bury.Church History
"From Dr. V. D. Lipman's inspection of the originals of the census returns of 1851, it is clear that the 'synagogues' at Bury, Lutterworth and Haslingden (and one of those at Leeds) were in fact places of worship of a non-Jewish (though perhaps Judaising) sect who called themselves 'Israelites.' "from Cecil Roth's history of provincial Jewry published in 1940
Church Records
- Knowsley St, Baptist
- Manchester Rd, Baptist
- Radcliffe Rd, Baptist
- Ebenezer, Tenterden St, Baptist
- Chesham Rd, Baptist, Chesham
- Bridge St, Baptist, Free Town
- Wood St, Bible Baptist, Elton
- St John Baptist, Castle Hill Rd, Church of England, Bircle
- Holy Trinity, Spring Street, Church of England
- St John, The Rock, Church of England
- St John with St Mark, Sunny Ave, Church of England
- St Mark, Brookshaw St, Church of England
- St Mary the Virgin, Market Place, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's St, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's Road, Church of England
- St Thomas, Rochdale Rd, Church of England, Pimhole
- Manchester Rd, Congregational, Blackford Bridge
- Castle Croft, Congregational
- Four Lane Ends, Congregational
- Brunswick, North St, Free Methodist
- Benson St, Gospel Chapel, Pimhole
- New Rd, Independent
- Bethel, Henry St, Independent
- Bury Hebrew Congregation, Sunny Bank Road, Jewish
- Boulden Drive, Methodist, Brandlesholme
- Elbut Lane, Jericho, Methodist
- Seedfield, Mosley Avenue, Methodist
- Bolton St, Methodist New Connexion
- Heywood Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Walmersley Rd, New Jerusalem
- Bethesda Church, Parkhills Rd, Pentecostal
- Walmersley Rd, Primitive Methodist
- William St, Primitive Methodist
- St Bede, Rochdale Old Road, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Peter Street, Roman Catholic
- St Marie, Manchester Road, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady Queen of Poland, Back East Street, Roman Catholic (Polish)
- Brookshaw St, Salvation Army
- Parkhills Road, Seventh-day Adventist, Fishpool
- Silver St/Bank St, Unitarian
- Halstead St, Unitarian, Chesham
- Parkhills Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Zion, Warth, United Methodist Free Church
- Wood St, United Methodist Free Church, Elton
- Walmesley Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Limefield
- Parsons Lane, United Reformed
- Ingham St, Welsh Calvinistic Methodist
- Benson St, Welsh Presbyterian, Pimhole
- Union Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Pits-o'-th'-Moor, Bell Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Pits-o'-th'-Moor, Pine St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Fairy St, Wesleyan Methodist, Elton
- Walshaw Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Elton
- Rochdale Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Pimhole
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Bury area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Bury which are provided by:
Directories
David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Bury contained the townships of Bury, Tottington Higher End, Tottington Lower End, Walmersley and Shuttleworth, Cowpe, Lench, Newhall Hey and Hall Carr, Elton and Heap.History
A description of Bury in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Bury and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD804107 (Lat/Lon: 53.592501, -2.297602), Bury which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Bury workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

