Butterworth

Select map to view larger area
BUTTERWORTH, a township and two subdistricts in Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the verge of the county, near the Manchester and Leeds railway, 3 miles E of Rochdale. It includes the hamlets of Clegg, Wildhouse, Belfield, Butterworth Hall, Lowhouse, Haughs, and Bleaked-gate-cum-Roughbank. Real property, 26,906; of which 6,355 are in mines. Pop., 6,704. Houses, 1,332. There are cotton and woollen factories, a church of 1798, dissenting chapels, two endowed schools, and charities 32. The subdistricts are B. Freehold-side and B. Lordship-side; and are jointly conterminate with the township.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Butterworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Butterworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Butterworth area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Butterworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Butterworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Butterworth was a township in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Butterworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Butterworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD932118 (Lat/Lon: 53.602713, -2.104240), Butterworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Butterworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.