Cantsfield
|
|
|
|
CANTSFIELD, a township in Tunstall parish, Lancashire; near the river Greta, 4½ miles SE of Kirkby Lonsdale. It has a post office under Burton-in-Kendal. Acres, 1,221. Real property, £1,786. Pop., 116. Houses, 20. Cantsfield Hall is the seat of the Tathams.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cantsfield.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cantsfield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Cantsfield area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Cantsfield which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cantsfield to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Cantsfield was a township in the parish of Tunstall.Maps
View maps of Cantsfield and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD621729 (Lat/Lon: 54.150521, -2.581780), Cantsfield which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cantsfield was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

