Castleton
|
|
|
|
CASTLETON, a township and two subdistricts in Rochdale parish and district, Lancashire. The township stands on the Rochdale canal and the Manchester and Leeds railway, partly within the borough of Rochdale, partly in the south-eastern suburbs and environs. Real property, £102,077: of which £24,424 are in the canal. Pop. in 1841, 14,279; in 1861, 23,771. Houses, 4,884. The part without the borough includes the villages and hamlets of Buersill, Lowerplace, Newbold, Marland, Lower-Lane, Broad-Lane, Backlanes, Roeacre, Captainfold, Castleton-Moor, and Bluepits. There are traces of a castle, supposed to have been built before the Conquest. The subdistricts are C.-Within and C.-Without; and are jointly conterminate with the township. Pop. of C.Within, 13,971. Houses, 2,892.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.Cemeteries
- St Martin, Manchester Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Castleton.Church History
Church Records
- St Martin, Manchester Rd, Church of England
- St Thomas, Cavendish Rd, Church of England, Kirkholt
- Daventry Rd, Community Church, Kirkholt
- Heywood Rd, Independent
- St Gabriel and all the Angels, Milne St, Roman Catholic
- Holy Family, Mornington Rd, Roman Catholic, Kirkholt
- Heywood Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Castleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Castleton area is Rochdale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Castleton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Castleton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Castleton was a township in the parish of Rochdale.History
A description of Castleton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Castleton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD887107 (Lat/Lon: 53.592747, -2.172203), Castleton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Castleton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

