Catterall

Select map to view larger area
CATTERALL, a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, adjacent to the Lancaster canal, and to the Lancaster and Preston railway, 1½ mile S by W of Garstang. It has a post office under Garstang. Acres, 1,733. Real property,. 3,851. Pop., 867. Houses, 168. Catterall-House is the seat of A. Simpson, Esq. There are two large cotton mills, Caldervale church, and a Wesleyan chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Catterall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Catterall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Catterall area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Catterall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Catterall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Catterall was a township in the parish of Garstang.

Maps

View maps of Catterall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD496427 (Lat/Lon: 53.878037, -2.768133), Catterall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Catterall was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.