Charnock Richard

Select map to view larger area
CHARNOCK-RICHARD, a township-chapelry in Standish parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Wigan and Preston railway, near Coppull station, 3 miles SW by W of Chorley. Post Town, Coppull, under Chorley. Acres, 1,948. Real, property, 6,253; of which 2,700 are in mines. Pop., 899. Houses, 161. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 141.* Patron, James Darlington, Esq. The church was built in 1861; is in the perpendicular English style; and consists of nave and chancel, with tower and vestry.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Charnock Richard.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Charnock Richard area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Charnock Richard area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Charnock Richard which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Charnock Richard to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Charnock Richard was a township in the parish of Standish.

Maps

View maps of Charnock Richard and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD553158 (Lat/Lon: 53.636794, -2.677534), Charnock Richard which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Charnock Richard was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.