Chatburn
|
|
|
|
CHATBURN, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the verge of the county, on the river Ribble, at the terminus of the Blackburn and Clitheroe railway, 2½ miles NE of Clitheroe. Acres, 720. Pop., 521. Houses, 111. The chapelry includes also the township of Worston; and its post town is Clitheroe, under Blackburn. Acres, 1,580. Rated property, £2,425. Pop., 605. Houses, 132. The property is divided among a few. Cotton manufacture and lime-burning are carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £165. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church was struck by lightning in 1854; and the steeple of it had to be taken down and rebuilt.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Sawley Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Chatburn.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Sawley Road, Church of England
- Pendle Ave, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Chatburn area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Chatburn area is Ribble Valley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Chatburn which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Chatburn to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Chatburn was a township in the Parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Chatburn and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD768442 (Lat/Lon: 53.893453, -2.354516), Chatburn which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Chatburn was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

