Cheetham
Cheetham, township, forming N. district of Manchester, SE. Lancashire, 919 ac., pop.
25,721; contains Cheetham Hill; P.O., T.O., 1 Bank.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Local studies information is held at
Manchester central library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cheetham.
- Bethel, New Bridge Street, Baptist, Strangeways
- Thirlmere St, Christian Brethren
- St Mark, St Mark's Lane, Church of England
- St Saviour, Park Place, Church of England
- St Thomas, Red Bank, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Waterloo Road, Church of England, Cheetham Hill
- St Luke, Cheetham Hill Rd, Church of England, Cheetham Hill
- St Alban, Waterloo Road, Church of England, Cheetwood
- Cheetham, Cheetham Hill Road, Congregational, Cheetham Hill
- Park (Ducie Chapel), Cheetham Hill Road, Congregational, Cheetham Hill
- Beth Aaron Synagogue, Red Bank, Jewish
- New Congregation, York Street (now Cheetham Hill Rd), Jewish
- Old Congregation, York Street (now Cheetham Hill Rd), Jewish
- Reform Synagogue, Park Place, Jewish
- Spanish and Portugese Synagogue, Cheetham Hill Rd, Jewish
- Zion, Thirlmere Street, Particular Baptist
- New Life Mission, Dornton Walk /Dudley Street, Pentecostal Church, Hightown
- Greenhill Road, Presbyterian, Cheetham Hill
- Trinity, New Bridge Street, Presbyterian, Strangeways
- Tetlow Lane (formerly Halliwell Lane), Primitive Methodist
- St Chad, Cheetham Hill Road, Roman Catholic
- Humphrey Street, Seventh Day Adventist, Cheetham Hill
- Dormition of our Lady, Bury Old Road, Ukrainian Catholic Church
- Bury New Road, Unitarian, Strangeways
- New Bridge Street, Unitarian, Strangeways
- Bury New Road, Unitarian Free, Strangeways
- Moston Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Stocks Chapel, York Street (now Cheetham Hill Rd), United Methodist Free Church
- Heywood Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Marlborough Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ebenezer, Red Bank, Wesleyan Methodist
- Rydal Mount, Waterloo Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Victoria Chapel, Queens Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Cheetham Hill
- Cheetwood Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Cheetwood
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Cheetham area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
location
of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated
since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong
church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The Register Office covering the Cheetham area is
Manchester.
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cheetham to another place.
In 1835 Cheetham was a township in the parish of
Manchester.
A description of
Cheetham in the 19th century.
View maps of Cheetham and places within its boundaries.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cheetham was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester.
The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the
Lancashire Record Office.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:56 BST - Phil Stringer]