Childwall

Select map to view larger area
CHILDWALL, a township in West Derby district and a parish in West Derby and Prescot districts, Lancashire. The township lies adjacent to the Liverpool and Manchester railway, between Broad Green and Roby stations, 4¼ miles E of Liverpool. Acres, 828. Real property, 3,198. Pop., 174. Houses, 25. The parish includes also the townships of Wavertree, Allerton, Garston, Speke, Hale, Halewood, Little Woolton, and Much Woolton; extends from the suburbs of Liverpool, 9 miles up the Mersey; and contains the post offices of Wavertree, Garston, Broad-Green, Woolton, Grassendale, and Halewood under Liverpool, and Hale under Warrington. Acres, 1,327; of which 6,850 are water. Real property, 11, 561. Pop., 1,917. Houses, 3,115. The property is much subdivided. The manor, with Childwall Hall, belongs to the Marquis of Salisbury. A cell to Holme priory anciently stood near Childwall Hall. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Chester. Value, 456.* Patron, the Bishop of Chester. The church was repaired in 1853. The rectories of St. Mary, Wavertree, Woolton, and Halewood, the vicarages of Garston, Aigburth, and Grassendale, and the p. curacy of Hale are separate benefices. Dissenting chapels and public schools are in various parts. Markland, the critic, and the Child of Hale, were natives.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Childwall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Childwall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Childwall area is Liverpool

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Childwall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Childwall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Childwall contained the townships of Childwall, Hale, Halewood, Speke, Garston, Allerton, Much Woolton, Little Woolton and Wavertree.

Maps

View maps of Childwall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ412890 (Lat/Lon: 53.394533, -2.885724), Childwall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Childwall was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.