Chipping

Select map to view larger area
CHIPPING, a township, a parish, and a sub-district in Clitheroe district, Lancashire. The township lies on a branch of the river Hodder, 3¾ miles NW of the Longridge railway, and 7 E by S of Garstang; and has a post office under Preston, and fairs on Easter Tuesday and 24 Aug. Acres, 5, 577. Real property, 5,567. Pop., 1,074. Houses, 229. The parish includes also the township of Thornley-with-Wheatley. Acres, 8,756. Real property, 8,217. Pop., 1,483. Houses, 311. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged, before the Conquest, to Richard de Chepin. The cotton manufacture is largely carried on; and limestone occurs. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 120. Patron, the bishop of Manchester. The church was reported in 1859 to need repair. There are chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics; and charities, 260. The sub-district contains also parts of two other parishes. Acres, 22,226. Pop., 3,217. Houses, 590.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Chipping.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Chipping area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Chipping area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Chipping which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Chipping to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Chipping contained the townships of Chipping and Thornley with Wheatley.

History

The history of Chipping from Pigot's Lancashire directory, 1830.

Maps

View maps of Chipping and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD621433 (Lat/Lon: 53.884495, -2.578080), Chipping which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Chipping was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.