Chorlton cum Hardy
|
|
|
|
CHORLTON-CUM-HARDY, a township-chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire; near the river Mersey and the North Western railway, 3½ miles SW of Manchester. It has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1, 265. Real property, £4,928. Pop., 730. Houses, 147. The property is divided among a few. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £103. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Manchester. The church was built in 1866, at a cost of £5,000. There are chapels for Independents and Methodists.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- Southern Cemetery, Barlow Moor Road, Cemetery, Chorlton cum Hardy
- St Clement, St Clement's Rd, Church of England, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Wilbraham Rd, Congregational, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Manchester Crematorium, Barlow Moor Road, Crematorium, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Beech Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Chorlton cum Hardy
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Chorlton cum Hardy.Church History
Church Records
- Chorlton Central, Barlow Moor Road, Baptist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- McLaren Memorial, Wilbraham Rd, Baptist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Manchester Centre for Buddhist Meditation, High Lane, Buddhist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Vairochana Kadampa Buddhist Centre, High Lane, Buddhist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- St Barnabas, Hardy Lane, Church of England, Chorlton cum Hardy
- St Clement, St Clement's Rd, Church of England, Chorlton cum Hardy
- St Werburgh, Wilbraham Rd, Church of England, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Wilbraham Rd, Congregational, Chorlton cum Hardy
- MacFadyen Memorial, Barlow Moor Road, Congregational, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Manchester Crematorium, Barlow Moor Road, Crematorium, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Ivygreen Rd, Evangelical, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Gita Bhavan Hindu Temple, Wilbraham Rd, Hindu, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Maitland Ave, Methodist, Barlow Moor
- St Ninian, Wilbraham Rd, Presbyterian, Chorlton cum Hardy
- High Lane, Primitive Methodist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Our Lady and St John (formerly St Peter), High Lane, Roman Catholic, Chorlton cum Hardy
- St Ambrose of Milan, Princess Road, Roman Catholic, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Wilbraham Rd, Unitarian, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Beech Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Chorlton cum Hardy
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Chorlton-cum-Hardy area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Chorlton cum Hardy area is Manchester.Description and Travel
Pictures of Chorlton cum Hardy.You can see pictures of Chorlton-cum-Hardy which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Chorlton cum Hardy to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Chorlton cum Hardy was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Chorlton cum Hardy in the 19th century.Some old pictures of Chorlton cum Hardy.
Maps
View maps of Chorlton-cum-Hardy and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ818938 (Lat/Lon: 53.440646, -2.275463), Chorlton-cum-Hardy which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Chorlton cum Hardy was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

