GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Chorlton cum Hardy

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Description and Travel
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
CHORLTON-CUM-HARDY, a township-chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire; near the river Mersey and the North Western railway, 3½ miles SW of Manchester. It has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1, 265. Real property, £4,928. Pop., 730. Houses, 147. The property is divided among a few. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £103. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Manchester. The church was built in 1866, at a cost of £5,000. There are chapels for Independents and Methodists.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Chorlton cum Hardy.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Chorlton-cum-Hardy area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Chorlton cum Hardy area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

Pictures of Chorlton cum Hardy.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Chorlton cum Hardy to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Chorlton cum Hardy was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Chorlton cum Hardy in the 19th century.

Some old pictures of Chorlton cum Hardy.

Maps

View maps of Chorlton-cum-Hardy and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Chorlton cum Hardy was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! Find help report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:57 BST - Phil Stringer]