Church Kirk

Select map to view larger area
CHURCH, or Church-Kirk, a township-chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the East Lancashire railway, 1 mile NNW of Accrington. It has a post office under Accrington, and a r. station. Acres, 620. Real property, 13,452; of which 2,000 are in mines, and 659 in quarries. Pop., 4,753. Houses, 873. The property is much subdivided. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in factories. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 650.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is good. St. Paul's is a new and separate charge. There are three Methodist chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, and two national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Accrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Church Kirk.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Church area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Church Kirk area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Church which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Church Kirk to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Church was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Church and places within its boundaries.

A map of Church around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD741290 (Lat/Lon: 53.756709, -2.394315), Church which are provided by:

Military History

Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Church Kirk was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.