Claife
|
|
|
|
CLAIFE, a township in Hawkeshead parish, Lancashire; on the E side of Esthwaite-water, 2 miles SE of Hawkeshead. Acres, 5, 310. Real property, £3,688. Pop., 540. Houses, 103.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.Cemeteries
- St Margaret, Church of England, Low Wray
- St Peter, Church of England, Sawrey
- Society of Friends, Colthouse
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Claife.Church History
Church Records
- St Margaret, Church of England, Low Wray
- St Peter, Church of England, Sawrey
- Society of Friends, Colthouse
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Claife area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Claife area is Ulverston.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Claife which are provided by:Historical Geography
In 1835 Claife was a township in the parish of Hawkshead.Maps
View maps of Claife and places within its boundaries.The Old-Maps site has made available an historic map near Claife in the 19th century.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD378974 (Lat/Lon: 54.368310, -2.958883), Claife which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Claife was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

