Claughton

This is the parish of Claughton to the east of Lancaster. There is also a township of Claughton near Garstang.

Select map to view larger area
Claughton, par., N. Lancashire, on river Lune, 7 miles NE. of Lancaster, 1581 ac., pop. 100.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Claughton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Claughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

The registers of the parish church, St Chad, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Claughton area is Lancaster.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Claughton to another place.

Maps

View maps of Claughton and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Claughton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.