Claughton

This is the township of Claughton near Garstang. There is also a Claughton parish to the east of Lancaster.

Select map to view larger area
CLAUGHTON, a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster canal and the Lancaster and Preston railway, 2½ miles S of Garstang. Acres, 3,700. Real property, 4,690. Pop., 608. Houses, 110. Hall is the seat of the Brockholes family. There are a Preshyterian chapel of 1866, a Roman Catholic chapel, modern and in the Grecian style, a large Roman Catholic school, and the Garstang workhouse.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for ClaughtonG.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Claughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Claughton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Claughton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from ClaughtonG to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Claughton was a township in the parish of Garstang.

History

Some notes on the history of Claughton-on-Brock.

Maps

View maps of Claughton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD527424 (Lat/Lon: 53.875633, -2.720936), Claughton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Claughton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.