Clayton le Dale

Select map to view larger area
CLAYTON-LE-DALE, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 3½ miles NNW of Blackburn. Acres, 950. Real property, 2,018. Pop., 375. Houses, 72.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Clayton le Dale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clayton-le-Dale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Clayton le Dale area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Clayton-le-Dale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Clayton le Dale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Clayton le Dale was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Clayton-le-Dale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD672332 (Lat/Lon: 53.794068, -2.499413), Clayton-le-Dale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Clayton le Dale was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.