Clayton le Moors

Select map to view larger area
CLAYTON-LE-MOORS, a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Blackburn and Clitheroe railway, at Whalley station, 5½ miles NE of Blackburn. Post town, Whalley, under Blackburn. Acres, 950. Real property, 12,184; of which 350 are in quarries. Pop., 4,682. Houses, 902. The property is much sub-divided. The living is a p. curacy in the dio. of Manchester. Value, 120.* Patrons, Trustees. The church is modern. There are Baptist and R. Catholic chapels.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Accrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Clayton le Moors.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clayton-le-Moors area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Clayton le Moors area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Clayton-le-Moors which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Clayton le Moors to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Clayton le Moors was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Clayton-le-Moors and places within its boundaries.

A map of Clayton-le-Moors around 1845.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD748310 (Lat/Lon: 53.774719, -2.383862), Clayton-le-Moors which are provided by:

Military History

Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Clayton le Moors was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.