Hide
Cleveley
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
CLEVELEY, a township in Garstang and Cockerham parishes, Lancashire; 4½ miles NNE of Garstang. Pop., 62.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cleveley.
The Register Office covering the Cleveley area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"CLEVELEY, a township in the parish of Garstang, in the hundred of Amounderness, in the county of Lancaster, 4 miles N.E. of Garstang. It is situated on the river Wyre, near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway."
"SHIRESHEAD, an ecclesiastical district in the parish of Cockerham, hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.W. of Garstang, its post town. The village is small, and chiefly agricultural. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £93, in the patronage of the vicar. The church is a modern structure dedicated to St. Paul."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales - 1870-2
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cleveley to another place.
In 1835 Cleveley was a township in the parish of Cockerham.
View maps of Cleveley and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD499510 (Lat/Lon: 53.952971, -2.764177), Cleveley which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cleveley was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.