Clitheroe

Select map to view larger area
CLITHEROE, a town, a township, a chapelry, a sub-district: and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on the river Ribble, and on the Blackburn and Chatburn railway, at the foot of Pendle hill, adjacent to the boundary with Yorkshire, 10 miles NW of Blackburn. The town occupies a rising-ground; contains many modern houses; and presents the ordinary appearance of a seat of manufacture. It has a post office under Blackburn, a railway station with telegraph, a banking office, three chief inns, a moot-hall, a court-house of 1864, two churches, three dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a cemetery of 1862, a mechanics' institute, and a free grammar-school. St. Mary's church has a fine tower and spire, and occupies the site of a previous edifice. St. James' church is a modern structure, in the Norman style, with a tower. Nearly one-third of the inhabitants are employed in extensive paper-works and four cotton factories. The town is a borough by prescription; is governed by a mayor, 4 aldermen, and 12 councillors; sent two members to parliament from the time of Elizabeth till the act of 1832; and now sends one. The municipal borough is conterminate with Clitheroe township; while the parliamentary borough includes also the townships of Twiston, Downham, Chatburn, Worston, Mearley, Pendleton, Wiswall, Whalley, and Little Mitton, all in the parish of Whalley. Direct taxes in 1857, 4,987. Electors in 1868, 484. Pop. of the p. borough in 1841, 11,324; in 1861, 10,864. Houses, 2,247.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...

Archives and libraries

Clitheroe Library,
Church Street,
Clitheroe
BB7 2DG

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions for Clitheroe cemetery, St Mary Magdalene, and for St Michael & St John have been published by the LFH&HS.

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Clitheroe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clitheroe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Clitheroe area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

Some pictures of Clitheroe.

You can see pictures of Clitheroe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Clitheroe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Clitheroe was a Township and Chapelry in the Parish of Whalley.

History

The history of Clitheroe from Pigot's Lancashire directory, 1830.

Maps

View maps of Clitheroe and places within its boundaries.

Maps of Clitheroe North and South around 1890. You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD743419 (Lat/Lon: 53.872663, -2.392363), Clitheroe which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Clitheroe workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Clitheroe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.