Cockerham

Select map to view larger area
COCKERHAM, a township and a parish in the district and county of Lancaster. The township lies on the Cocker rivulet, adjacent to the Lancaster canal, and the Lancaster and Preston railway, 2 miles SW of Bay Horse r. station, and 4½ NNW of Garstang; and has a post office under Garstang, Lancashire, and a fair on Easter Monday. Acres, 4,860. Real property, 8,078. Pop., 778. Houses, 131. The parish contains also the town ship of Ellel and part of the township of Thurnham. Acres, 10,480. Real property, with the rest of Thurnham, 20,561. Pop., 2,922. Houses, 530. The property is much subdivided. Thurnham is the seat of the Daltons. Some of the inhabitants are employed in cotton and silk mills. The living is a vicarage in the diocese. of Manchester. Value, 640.* Patrons, the Lords of the manor. The church is in the pointed style, and has a . spire. The p. curacies of Ellel, Shireshead, and Dolphinholme are separate benefices. There are three dissenting chapels and an endowed school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cockerham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cockerham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cockerham area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cockerham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cockerham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Cockerham contained the townships of Cockerham, Ellel, Forton, Cleveley, and Winmarleigh

Maps

View maps of Cockerham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD464522 (Lat/Lon: 53.963092, -2.818472), Cockerham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cockerham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.