Cockersand Abbey

Select map to view larger area
COCKERSAND ABBEY, an extra-parochial tract in the district and county of Lancaster; at the mouth of the rivulet Cocker, 6¾ miles SSW of Lancaster. A Pre-monstratensian abbey, on the site of a previous hermitage and hospital, was founded here, in 1190, by Theobald, brother of Archbishop Hubert; was restored, for a short time, after the dissolution; and is now represented by its octagonal chapter-house, and part of the other walls. It belongs to the Daltons of Thurnham; and is sometimes called Thurnham-Abbey.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for CockersandAbbey.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cockersand Abbey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cockersand Abbey area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cockersand Abbey which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cockersand Abbey to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cockersand Abbey was a township in the parish of Cockerham.

Maps

View maps of Cockersand Abbey and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD428536 (Lat/Lon: 53.975287, -2.873600), Cockersand Abbey which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cockersand Abbey was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.