Colne
|
|
|
|
COLNE, a town, a township, three chapelries, and a sub-district in Whalley parish, Burnley district, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Henburn, and on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2¼ miles SW of the boundary with Yorkshire, and 5½ NE of Burnley. It is thought by some to have been the Colunio of the Romans; but it has yielded no other evidence of Roman occupation than some Roman coins. It occupies a rising-ground; presents chiefly a modern and manufacturing aspect; and has a head post office, a r. station with telegraph, a banking-office, two chief inns, three churches, five dissenting chapels, a cemetery of 1860, a mechanics' institute, and two endowed schools. The chief of the churches, St. Bartholomew's, is perpendicular English, with some Norman traces; has two chantry chapels, a fine screen, and an old font; and was restored and enlarged in 1857. The two endowed schools have £15 or £48 from endowment; and one of them had as a pupil Archbishop Tillotson. A weekly market is held on Wednesday; and fairs on 7 March, 13 May, 11 Oct., and 21 Dec. Manufactures of woollen and worsted were formerly extensive; but manufactures of cotton are now the chief. Pop., 6,315. Houses, 1,357. The township comprises 4,575 acres. Real property, £20,817; of which £800 are in gas-works, and £120 in quarries. Pop., 7,906. Houses, 1, 701. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged anciently to the Lacys; and Barnside was an old seat of the Townleys. The surface is hilly; the rocks include coal, limestone and slate; and a double-ditched camp, 360 feet by 330, is at Castor Cliff. The three chapelries are St. Bartholomew, Christ Church, and Barrowford; and the first is a rectory, the others p. curacies, in the diocese of Manchester. Value of St. Bartholomew, £300;* of Christ-Church, £150;* of Barrowford, £150. Patrons of all, Hulme's Trustees. The sub-district contains six townships. Acres, 15,435. Pop., 21,203. Houses, 4,369.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Colne Library,Market Street,
Colne
BB8 0AP
Tel: 01282 871155
Fax: 01282 865227
Cemeteries
- Colne Lane (later Keighley Rd), Baptist
- Keighley Road, Cemetery
- Christ Church, Keighley Road, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Church Street, Church of England
- Dockray Sq, Independent
- West St, Inghamite
- Providence, Lenches Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Albert Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- St John, Albert Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Colne.Church History
Church Records
- Colne Lane (later Keighley Rd), Baptist
- Trinity, Keighley Road, Baptist
- Trinity, Robert St, Baptist
- Zion, East Parade/Keighley Rd, Baptist
- Christ Church, Keighley Road, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Burnley Road, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Church Street, Church of England
- Dockray Sq, Independent
- Albert Road, Independent Methodist
- Bethel, Burnley Road, Independent Methodist
- Bethesda, Blucher Street, Independent Methodist
- West St, Inghamite
- West Street, Inghamite
- School Chapel, Cotton Tree Lane, Inghamite
- Kingdom Hall, Windy Bank, Jehovah's Witness
- Latter Day Saints
- New Life Christian Centre, West Street, Pentecostal
- Bolton St, Primet Bridge, Bunker's Hill, Primitive Methodist
- Ebenezer, Market St and Skipton Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Providence, Lenches Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Sacred Heart, Derby Street, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Queen St, Roman Catholic
- Cloth Hall, Spiritualist
- Spring Lane, Spiritualist
- Stanley St, Unitarian
- Mount Zion, Exchange St, United Methodist Free Church
- Albert Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Chapel Fold, Colne Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Collingwood St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Cotton Tree Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Garritt, Keighley Rd, Laneshawbridge, Wesleyan Methodist
- Providence, Black Lane Ends, Wesleyan Methodist
- St John, Albert Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Stone Bridge, Langroyd Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Colne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Colne area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Colne which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Colne to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Colne was a township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Colne and places within its boundaries.Maps of Colne East and West around 1890.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD890400 (Lat/Lon: 53.856108, -2.168721), Colne which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Colne was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

