Colton

Select map to view larger area
COLTON, or Coulton, a village, a parish, and a sub-district in Ulverstone district, Lancashire. The village stands between the rivers Crake and Leven, under Furness fells, 3½ miles WSW of the foot of the lake Windermere, 4½ N of the Ulverstone and Lancaster railway, and 5½ NNE of Ulverstone. The parish includes also Haverthwaite and Rusland hamlets and Finsthwaite chapelry; and the first of these has a post office under Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 13,330. Real property, 8,814. Pop., 1,794. Houses, 340. The property is subdivided. The surface shares in the fine scenery of the Furness fells and tlhe Lake country. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 110. Patrons, the Landowners. The church is tolerable. Tho p. curacies of Haverthwaite, Rusland, and Finsthwaite are separate benefices. There is a Baptist chapel. A school has 67 from endowment; and other charities 14. The sub-district contains also four townships of Ulverstone parish. Acres, 22,486. Pop., 3,838. Houses, 730.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Colton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Colton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Colton area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Colton which are provided by:

Directories

Colton parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Colton to another place.

Maps

View maps of Colton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD318860 (Lat/Lon: 54.265103, -3.048610), Colton which are provided by:

Occupations

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Colton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.