Church Coniston

Select map to view larger area
CONISTON (Church), a township-chapelry in Ulverstone parish, Lancashire; containing the town, the railway station, and the post office of Coniston, under Windermere. Acres, 7, 210. Real property, £8,631; of which £4,875 are in mines, and £127 in quarries. Pop., 1,324. Houses, 260. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged anciently to the Urswicks; and passed by marriage, in the time of Henry III., to the Flemings. Coniston Hall, some time a ruin, now a re-fitted picturesque farm-house, about a mile south of the town, was the residence of the Flemings till the middle of the 17th century. The area of the chapelry includes the Coniston copper-mines, and a large portion of Coniston fells. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £117.* Patron, the Rev. A. Peache. The church is a plain, oblong edifice, with a small unsightly tower.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Coniston and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Coniston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Coniston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Coniston area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Coniston which are provided by:

Directories

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Church Coniston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Church Coniston was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Ulverston.

History

The history of Church Coniston as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Coniston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD302975 (Lat/Lon: 54.368223, -3.075863), Coniston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Coniston was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.