Copp

Select map to view larger area
COPP, a chapelry in-Michael-on-Wyre and Kirk. ham parishes, Lancashire; adjacent to the Preston and Lancashire railway, 3 miles SSE of Garstang. It was constituted in 1849; and its post-town is Garstang. Pop., 1,140. Houses, 247. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 190.* Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Copp.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Copp area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Copp area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Copp which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Copp to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 was a chapelry in the parish of St.Michaels.

Maps

View maps of Copp and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD421394 (Lat/Lon: 53.847595, -2.881579), Copp which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Copp was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.