Coppull
|
|
|
|
COPPULL, a township and a chapelry in Standish parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Wigan and Preston railway, 6 miles N by W of Wigan; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Chorley. Acres, 2,279. Real property, £6,152; of which £1,950 are in mines. Pop., 1,230. Houses, 218. The chapelry was constituted in 1842; and was at first more extensive than the township, with a pop. of upwards of 2,000; but is now conterminate with the township. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, £120. Patron, the Rector of Standish. The church was rebuilt in 1861. There is a Wesleyan chapel, a national school, and charities £44.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Coppull and the surrounding area.- 'Coppull Memories' (now out of print) by Keith Lees & Geoff Bellis. This is A Countryside Publication ISBN 0 86157 203 3. It is a photographic collection. The co-author Geoff Bellis holds the full collection (in ring binders) from which these were chosen. He lends them to local people, inviting them to add names that are missing.
Cemeteries
- Chapel Lane, Church of England
- St Oswald, Tansley Ave, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Coppull.Church History
Church Records
- Chapel Lane, Church of England
- St John the Divine, Hewlett Street, Church of England
- Preston Rd, Methodist
- St Oswald, Tansley Ave, Roman Catholic
- Chapel Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Spendmore Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Coppull area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Coppull area is Chorley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Coppull which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Coppull to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Coppull was a township in the parish of Standish.History
Various documents about the history of Coppull.Maps
View maps of Coppull and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD563142 (Lat/Lon: 53.622499, -2.662186), Coppull which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Coppull was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

