Cowpe, Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr

Select map to view larger area
COWPE-LENCHES, NEWHALLHEY, AND HALL-CARR, a township in Bury parish, Lancashire; E of the river Irwell, 4 miles SSE of Haslingden. Acres, 1,545. Pop., 2,851. Houses, 579.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, and Hall Carr.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cowpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr area is Hyndburn & Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cowpe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr was a township in the parish of Bury.

Maps

View maps of Cowpe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD835209 (Lat/Lon: 53.684289, -2.251311), Cowpe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.