Croft with Southworth
|
|
|
|
SOUTHWORTH-WITH-CROFT, a parish in Warington district, Lancashire; 1¾ mile SSW of Kenyon-Junction r. station, and 4¼ NE by N of Warrington. It has a post-office, of the name of Croft, under Warrington. Acres, 1,851. Real property, £4,255. Pop., 1,094. Houses, 228. The property is much subdivided. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, £230.* Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is recent, and has a spire. There are chapels for Independent Methodists and Roman Catholics, and an endowed school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Lady Lane, Church of England, Croft with Southworth
- St Lewis, Mustard Lane, Roman Catholic
- New Lane, Unitarian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Croft with Southworth.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Lady Lane, Church of England, Croft with Southworth
- St Lewis, Mustard Lane, Roman Catholic
- New Lane, Unitarian
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Croft area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Croft area is Warrington.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Croft which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Croft to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Southworth with Croft was a township in the parish of Winwick.Maps
View maps of Croft and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ634935 (Lat/Lon: 53.436990, -2.552419), Croft which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Croft was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

