Crompton
|
|
|
|
CROMPTON, a township and a sub-district in Oldham district, Lancashire. The township is in Prestwich parish, and within Oldham borough; lies near the Oldham and the Rochdale railways, 3 miles N of Oldham; contains the villages of High-Crompton, Cowlishall, and Shaw, the last of which has a post office under Oldham; and is divided into the chapelries of East Crompton and Shaw. Acres, 2, 864. Real property, £22,972; of which £2,779 are in mines, £1,060 in quarries, and £350 in gas-works. Pop., 7,032. Houses, 1,460. Many of the inhabitants are employed in collieries and in large cotton mills. The sub-district is conterminate with the township.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Oldham library.Cemeteries
- Fraser St, Shaw, Cemetery
- St James, St James Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Crompton.Church History
Church Records
- St James, St James Street, Church of England
- St Mary, Rushcroft Rd, Church of England, High Crompton
- Buckstones Rd, Primitive Methodist, Shore Edge
- Rochdale Rd, Green Hill, United Methodist Free Church
- Gravelhole Chapel, Shaw Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Grains Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Top O' Th' Knowl
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Crompton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Crompton area is Oldham.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Crompton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Crompton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Crompton was a township in the parish of Oldham.History
A description of Crompton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Crompton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD927095 (Lat/Lon: 53.582032, -2.111741), Crompton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Crompton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

