Cronton

Select map to view larger area
CRONTON, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Runcorn railway, 3¼ miles SSE of Prescot. It includes the village of Cronton-Smithies and the hamlet of Cronton-Townend. Acres, 1,121. Real property, 2,599. Pop., 412. Houses, 69.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cronton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cronton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cronton area is Knowsley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cronton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cronton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cronton was a township in the parish of Prescot.

History

Some information about the history of Cronton.

Maps

View maps of Cronton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ495884 (Lat/Lon: 53.390001, -2.760822), Cronton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cronton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.