Crosby

Select map to view larger area
CROSBY (Great), a village and a chapelry in Sephton parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast, near the river Mersey's mouth, 1¾ mile W of the Liverpool and Southport railway, 6½ miles NNW of Liverpool; is a much-frequented watering place; and has a station on the railway, a post office under Liverpool, and two hotels. The chapelry comprises 5,627 acres; of which 3,510 are water. Real property, 22,495. Pop., 3,794. Houses, 686. The property is much subdivided. Crosby House is the seat of John Myers, Esq. Crosby Point is near the village; Crosby lighthouse, 1¼ mile N of the Point, was erected in 1839, and shows a fixed light, 81 feet high; Crosby floating light is moored at the east elbow of the Burbo bank; and Crosby Channel, between that bank and the Formby, and about 6½ miles long, is the main entrance to. the Mersey. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, 119.* Patron, the Rector of Sephton. The church was built in 1854, is cruciform and handsome, and has a tower with lofty spire. There are an elegant Wesleyan chapel, built in 1863 at a cost of 5,000, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed grammar school, an endowed girls' school, and a Roman Catholic convent school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Crosby library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Crosby.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Crosby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map. The burials at SS Peter and Paul RC Church have been made available by the Anglo-Irish FHS.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Crosby area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Crosby which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Crosby to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Crosby was a chapelry in the township of Great Crosby, in the parish of Sefton.

Maps

View maps of Crosby and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ312992 (Lat/Lon: 53.484993, -3.038314), Crosby which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Crosby was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.