Croston

Select map to view larger area
CROSTON, a village, a township, and a sub-district in Chorley district, and a parish partly also in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Yarrow, near the Liverpool and Preston railway, 6 miles W of Chorley; has a station on the railway, and a post office under Preston; and was once a market-town. The township comprises 2,343 acres. Real property, 6,224. Pop., 1,790. Houses, 346. The sub-district contains also Mawdesley, Bretherton, and Ulnes-Walton townships in Croston parish, and two townships in Eccleston parish. Acres, 13,042. Pop., 5,369. Houses, 1,013. The parish includes Bispham township in Ormskirk district. Acres, 10,648. Rated property, 16,959. Pop., 4,242. Houses, 803. The property is not much divided. Croston Hall is the seat of J. R. De Trafford, Esq. Several adjacent parishes were formerly parts of this. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 1,050.* Patrons, the Reps. of the late Archdeacon Master. The church is ancient and good. The rectories of Bretherton and Mawdesley are separate benefices. There are chapels for Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics. A free school, alms-houses, and other charities have 832.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Croston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Croston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Croston area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Croston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Croston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Croston contained the townships of Croston, Bretherton, Ulnes Walton, Mawdesley and Bispham.

Maps

View maps of Croston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD489185 (Lat/Lon: 53.660474, -2.774765), Croston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Croston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.