Cuerden

Select map to view larger area
CUERDEN, a township in Leyland parish, Lancashire; on the river Lostock, and on the Preston and Wigan railway, 5 miles NNW of Chorley. Acres, 800. Real property, 3,322. Pop., 666. Houses, 121. Cuerden Hall belonged to the Banastres, and passed to the Parkers. Dr. Kuerden, the antiquary, was a native.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cuerden.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cuerden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cuerden area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cuerden which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cuerden to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cuerden was a township in the parish of Leyland.

Maps

View maps of Cuerden and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD564238 (Lat/Lon: 53.708789, -2.662025), Cuerden which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cuerden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.