Cuerdley

Select map to view larger area
CUERDLEY, or Cruerdley, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, near the Sankey canal, 5 miles WSW of Warrington. Acres, 1,717; of which 190 are water. Real property, 2,412. Pop., 192. Houses, 34.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cuerdley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cuerdley Cross area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cuerdley area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cuerdley Cross which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cuerdley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cuerdley was a township in the parish of Prescot.

Maps

View maps of Cuerdley Cross and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ544868 (Lat/Lon: 53.376067, -2.686917), Cuerdley Cross which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cuerdley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.