Culcheth
|
|
|
|
CULCHETH, a township and a sub-district in Leigh district, Lancashire. The township is in Newchurch-Kenyon parish; lies on the Liverpool and Manchester railway, 3 miles S of Leigh; and has a church, Methodist chapels, an endowed school for boys and girls, and charities £49. Acres, 5,361. Real property, £10,339. Pop., 2,214. Houses, 444. Culcheth Hall is the seat of the Withingtons. The sub-district includes also two townships of Leigh parish. Acres, 10,427. Pop., 10,881. Houses, 2,204.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Cross Lane, Presbyterian, Risley
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Culcheth.Church History
Church Records
- Church of the Transfiguration, The Mount, Admirals Road, Church of England, Birchwood
- Warrington Rd, Independent Methodist, Risley
- Risley Independent Methodist, Fearnhead Lane, Independent Methodist, Risley
- Hob Hey Lane, Independent Methodist, Twiss Green
- Ellesmere Rd, Methodist
- Thomas Risley Church, Glover Road, Presbyterian, Locking Stumps
- Cross Lane, Presbyterian, Risley
- Primitive Methodist, Risley
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Culcheth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Culcheth area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
Information from Culcheth Village Online.You can see pictures of Culcheth which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Culcheth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Culcheth was a township in the parish of Winwick.History
Maps
View maps of Culcheth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ661950 (Lat/Lon: 53.450654, -2.511939), Culcheth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Culcheth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

