GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Dalton

Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
DALTON, a township in Burton-in-Kendal parish, Lancashire; at the boundary with Westmoreland, adjacent to the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, 1¼ mile SE of Burton-in-Kendal. Acres, 2,135. Real property, £1,931. Pop., 129. Houses, 20.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Dalton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dalton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Dalton area is Kendal.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Dalton to another place.

Historical Geography

Dalton was a Lancashire Township in the parish of Burton in Kendal in Westmorland.

Maps

View maps of Dalton and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Dalton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:34:03 BST - Phil Stringer]