Dalton in Furness

Select map to view larger area
DALTON-IN-FURNESS, a small town, a parish, and a sub-district in Ulverstone district, Lancashire. The town stands on the Furness railway, 1½ mile N of Furness abbey, and 5 SW of Ulverstone; is an ancient place, long the capital of Lower-Furness; consists of one street, spacious, antique, picturesque, and improved; and has a head post office, designated Dalton-in-Furness, Lancashire, a railway station, a chief inn, an ancient tower, a parish church, a Wesleyan chapel, and a free school. The tower crowns a rocky eminence on the west; and belonged to a castle, built in the time of Edward III., by the abbots of Furness, to guard the northern approach to the abbey. The church stands near the tower, and was rebuilt in 1825. Markets are held on Saturdays; and fairs on 6 June and 23 Oct. A hunt, called the "Dalton Rout" in the "Tatler, " was established here in 1703; but has gone into disuse. Romney, the painter, was a native. Pop., 2,812. Houses, 538. The parish includes also the townships of Hawcoat and Yarlside, the chapelries of Ireleth and Rampside, the hamlet of Biggar, and the islands of Peel, Barrow, Roa, and Walney. Acres, 16,364. Real property, 64,492; of which 4,025 are in mines, and 33,627 in railways. Pop., 9,152. Houses, 1,565. The property is much subdivided. Iron ore and limestone are plentiful: and mining and iron working are extensively carried on. Remains of a fortified-beacon occur on the eminence of High Haume. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 159.* Patron, the Duchy of Lancaster. The chapelries of Ireleth, Rampside, Barrow, and Walney are separate benefices. The sub-district contains three parishes. Acres, 25,158. Pop., 11,243.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Dalton in Furness and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Dalton in Furness.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dalton-in-Furness area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Dalton in Furness area is Barrow in Furness.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Dalton-in-Furness which are provided by:

Directories

Dalton parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Dalton in Furness to another place.

History

A description of the history of Dalton up to the end of the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Dalton-in-Furness and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD227737 (Lat/Lon: 54.153284, -3.185127), Dalton-in-Furness which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Dalton in Furness was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.